# Instinct vs Cue by Manus (2026): Which AI Agent Wins?

September 30, 2026 · Justin Canetti · 8 min read · Comparisons

## The short answer

**Short answer: Instinct is a text-first assistant that finishes real-world errands, including phone calls; Cue is an app-based agent with its own email, phone number, wallet, and computer. Both are invite-gated and both are early.**

- **Pick Instinct if** you want to just text an assistant, have it call businesses and book things for you, and like a proactive assistant that messages you first when something needs doing.
- **Pick Cue if** you want a full agent identity bundle (email, phone number, wallet, computer), event-triggered automations, agent group chats, and payments inside a budget you set.

Neither has published pricing for after the free period, so treat both as trials. If you need shared tasks or admin controls for a team, neither documents them.

## Instinct vs. Cue at a Glance

|  | Instinct | Cue (Manus) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| **What it is** | A personal AI assistant from Spear Street Technology, founded in 2025 | A standalone Manus app for personal agents, launched September 28, 2026 |
| **Who it's for** | Individuals: errands, trips, bookings, subscriptions, life admin | Individuals; team plans not documented |
| **Availability** | Invite-only private beta, compute-limited; waitlist or invite from a member | Early access, invite code required |
| **Where you use it** | Text (iMessage, WhatsApp per secondary sources) and phone calls; web settings; no mobile app yet | Web, desktop, and mobile apps; iOS awaiting App Store review |
| **Its own identity** | Its own phone number and computer per TechCrunch, and its own email address since September 2026 per press coverage | Its own email address, phone number, wallet, and dedicated computer |
| **What it does for you** | Follows up on dropped threads, arranges rides, books services, trips, groceries, tickets, cancels subscriptions | Completes tasks on its own machine, sends messages, pays within a budget, scans QR codes for ordering or holding a line |
| **Contacting outside people** | Makes phone calls and sends emails on your behalf | Answers incoming calls and sends messages; outbound calls not verified |
| **Multi-person and team support** | A trusted person network links your agent to friends' agents; no team or shared-task features found | Agents can share a group chat; multiple humans sharing one agent not documented |
| **Workflows and automation** | Proactive nudges; no documented workflow builder | Event-triggered tasks (email, calendar, Notion, Slack); scheduled tasks become Automations |
| **Payments** | Stripe Link one-time cards with approval by amount, per secondary sources | Payments inside a user-set budget |
| **Privacy and data training** | Training on inputs by default, opt-out at app.instinct.com/settings; Vault content exempt | Not documented in what we found |
| **Security and compliance** | No SOC 2, SSO, or admin controls found on its site | No SOC 2 or admin information found |
| **Pricing** | None published; free during private beta, fees may follow | Free during early access; later pricing not disclosed |

*Details reflect public documentation, instinct.com/terms, and press coverage as of September 2026. Both products change quickly, so re-check before relying on any single row.*

## What Is Instinct?

Instinct is a personal AI assistant from Spear Street Technology, Inc. in San Francisco, founded in 2025 by Noah Shinn, formerly of Sierra. TechCrunch reported a $250M Series B at a $2.5B valuation on August 26, 2026 and a $1B Series C at a $10B valuation on September 28. The company has not disclosed user counts or revenue.

It is proactive: it follows up on dropped threads, arranges rides, books services, trips, groceries, and concert tickets, cancels subscriptions, and helps with wedding planning. It can start a conversation itself when action is needed, such as a flight check-in or a forgotten reservation. You get started by texting it, and there is a web settings page, but no mobile app yet.

Its strengths are the zero-install text interface, finishing tasks end to end with real-world action such as calls and bookings, and a payment design built around approvals.

## What Is Cue by Manus?

Cue is a standalone Manus app for personal agents, launched on September 28, 2026 with Manus 2.0. Each agent has its own email address, phone number, wallet, and a dedicated Cloud Computer that keeps jobs running when your device is closed. It is not a Meta product: Meta announced buying Manus in December 2025, China blocked the deal in April 2026, and Manus said it would operate independently.

Agents complete tasks on their own machine, send messages, make payments within a budget, and answer incoming calls with a summary in the app. Several agents can share a group chat and split up a job, for example a research agent, a shortlist agent, and a presentation agent, with you approving the final result. Tasks can start from events such as a new email, calendar event, Notion update, or Slack message.

## Is Instinct Free? Is Cue Free? Access and Pricing

**Instinct** is in an invite-only private beta that began around August 2026. It is compute-limited, so you join a waitlist or get an invite from an existing member. No pricing is published. It is free during the beta, and its terms say fees may be required later. Any specific monthly tier you may have seen circulating is unconfirmed, so we do not repeat it.

**Cue** is in early access and requires an invite code. It is free during early access, and later pricing has not been disclosed, including for the Cloud Computer.

So the price comparison today is: both free, both gated, both unknown afterwards. For other assistants with published prices, see [the best AI personal assistants in 2026](https://openassistant.us/blog/best-ai-personal-assistants-2026), and for a work-focused product see the [OpenAssistant pricing page](https://openassistant.us/pricing).

## Head to Head: What Each Agent Can Actually Do

Both aim to take an errand from request to completion. They differ in style.

- **Instinct is text-first and proactive.** It works over text and phone calls, has a phone-call concierge feature, and sends emails for you. Its terms authorize it to enter binding commitments and transactions on your behalf, per secondary readings of the terms. It also has a Vault for third-party logins.
- **Cue is app-first and structured.** It has a wallet with a budget, group chats between agents, and automations that trigger on events. We could not verify whether it needs approval before messaging someone.
- **Coordination:** Instinct's trusted person network lets your agent coordinate with friends' agents you authorize. Cue's coordination is between your own agents.

For a sense of which everyday jobs are worth handing to an agent at all, see [tasks to automate with AI](https://openassistant.us/blog/tasks-to-automate-with-ai). If your errands involve other people and calendars, our [guide to AI calendar assistants](https://openassistant.us/blog/best-ai-calendar-assistants) is a useful reference.

## Does It Have Its Own Phone Number? Identity and Channels

TechCrunch says Instinct uses its own phone number and computer, and secondary sources describe a persistent cloud computer that operates apps like a human. TechCrunch also reported on September 9 that Instinct launched its own email addresses for users. You reach it by text and calls.

Cue's identity bundle is explicit: its own email, phone number, wallet, and computer. What we could not verify is whether you can text or email it from your own iMessage, SMS, or email, how it identifies itself to outsiders, and whether it makes outbound voice calls.

So on channels, Instinct meets you where you already are (your messages), while Cue asks you to use its apps. On identity, Cue documents more pieces.

## Head to Head: Privacy, Security, and Trust

Instinct's terms (updated August 26, 2026) require users to be 18 or older, train on inputs by default with an opt-out at app.instinct.com/settings (Vault content is exempt), cap liability at $100 or six months of fees, and require arbitration. TechCrunch noted privacy criticism over overly generous permissions. We found no SOC 2, SSO, or admin controls on its site.

For Cue we found no training policy, SOC 2, admin, or audit information. The documented control is a spending budget for payments.

Because both agents can act with real permissions, read [how to know if an AI tool is safe](https://openassistant.us/blog/how-to-know-if-an-ai-tool-is-safe) before connecting your inbox, and see [what a vendor publishes on trust](https://openassistant.us/trust) as a reference for the kind of detail worth looking for.

## Who Each Is Best For

- **Instinct is best for** people who want a low-friction, text-based assistant that handles errands with real calls and bookings, and who value momentum and a proactive style.
- **Cue is best for** people who want a separate agent identity with its own wallet and computer, event-driven automations, and cross-device apps.
- **For teams,** neither documents shared tasks or admin features. Compare the alternatives in [Instinct alternatives for work](https://openassistant.us/blog/instinct-alternative-for-work) and [Cue alternatives for work](https://openassistant.us/blog/cue-by-manus-alternative-for-work), or read [Instinct vs. Grok Bot](https://openassistant.us/blog/instinct-vs-grok-bot).

## How They Differ in One Line

Instinct is a proactive assistant you text that makes real-world calls and bookings for you; Cue is an app-based agent with its own email, phone number, wallet, and computer. For other pairings, see [Grok Bot vs. Cue](https://openassistant.us/blog/grok-bot-vs-manus-cue) and [Muse vs. Cue](https://openassistant.us/blog/muse-vs-manus-cue).

## Frequently asked questions

### Which is better, Instinct or Cue?

It depends on style. Instinct suits people who want to text an assistant that calls and books things for them, while Cue suits people who want an agent with its own email, phone number, wallet, and computer.

### Is Instinct free?

Instinct is free during its invite-only private beta. No pricing is published, and its terms say fees may be required later.

### Is Cue by Manus free?

Cue is free during early access and needs an invite code. Later pricing, including for the Cloud Computer, has not been disclosed.

### How do I get an Instinct invite?

Instinct is invite-only and compute-limited. You join the waitlist or get an invite from an existing member.

### Does Instinct train on my data?

Per its terms updated August 26, 2026, Instinct trains on inputs by default, with an opt-out at app.instinct.com/settings. Vault content is exempt.

### Can I text Cue like Instinct?

We could not verify that you can text or email Cue from your own iMessage, SMS, or email. It has web, desktop, and mobile apps.

## Sources

- [Instinct terms of service](https://instinct.com/terms)
- [TechCrunch: Instinct raises $1B Series C (Sep 28, 2026)](https://techcrunch.com/2026/09/28/viral-ai-agent-instinct-raises-1b-series-c-at-a-10b-valuation/)
- [Manus: Introducing Manus 2.0 and Cue](https://manus.im/blog/introducing-manus-2-0)
- [The Next Web: Manus 2.0 and Cue](https://thenextweb.com/news/manus-2-0-cue-ai-agents-email-phone-wallet)

Facts last verified 2026-10-01.

## More comparisons

- [Cue by Manus vs Claude Cowork (2026): Which AI Agent Wins?](https://openassistant.us/blog/manus-cue-vs-claude-cowork)
- [Best AI Personal Assistants and Agents in 2026, Compared](https://openassistant.us/blog/best-ai-personal-assistants-2026)
- [Instinct vs Meta Muse (2026): Which AI Personal Agent Is Better?](https://openassistant.us/blog/instinct-vs-muse)
- [Muse vs Manus Cue (2026): Which AI Agent Should You Pick?](https://openassistant.us/blog/muse-vs-manus-cue)
- [Grok Bot vs Cue by Manus (2026): Which AI Agent Wins?](https://openassistant.us/blog/grok-bot-vs-manus-cue)
- [Instinct vs Grok Bot (2026): Which AI Agent Is Better?](https://openassistant.us/blog/instinct-vs-grok-bot)

## If your work involves other people

OpenAssistant is an executive assistant for teams, with its own phone number and email. Read how it compares:

- [How OpenAssistant compares to Instinct](https://openassistant.us/blog/instinct-alternative-for-work)
- [How OpenAssistant compares to Cue by Manus](https://openassistant.us/blog/cue-by-manus-alternative-for-work)

## Keep reading

**Guides**

- [Best AI Executive Assistants in 2026 (Compared)](https://openassistant.us/blog/best-ai-executive-assistants-2026)
- [Best AI Assistants You Can Text (iMessage, WhatsApp, SMS) in 2026](https://openassistant.us/blog/best-ai-assistants-you-can-text)
- [Best AI Assistants That Make Phone Calls for You (2026)](https://openassistant.us/blog/ai-assistants-that-make-phone-calls)
- [How to Use AI as an Executive Assistant (Step by Step)](https://openassistant.us/blog/how-to-use-ai-as-an-executive-assistant)
- [How to Know If an AI Tool Is Safe to Use in 2026](https://openassistant.us/blog/how-to-know-if-an-ai-tool-is-safe)
- [How to Use AI at Work: 10 Practical Ways in 2026](https://openassistant.us/blog/how-to-use-ai-at-work)
- [How Businesses Can Use AI Beyond ChatGPT in 2026](https://openassistant.us/blog/ai-beyond-chatgpt-for-business)
- [20 Tasks You Can Automate With AI at Work in 2026](https://openassistant.us/blog/tasks-to-automate-with-ai)
- [9 Best AI Calendar Assistants for 2026](https://openassistant.us/blog/best-ai-calendar-assistants)
- [7 Best AI Email Assistants for 2026](https://openassistant.us/blog/best-ai-email-assistants)

**Product pages**

- [AI executive assistant](https://openassistant.us/ai-executive-assistant)
- [Solutions](https://openassistant.us/solutions)
- [Product](https://openassistant.us/product)
- [OpenAssistant for teams](https://openassistant.us/teams)
- [AI scheduling assistant](https://openassistant.us/ai-scheduling-assistant)
- [AI email assistant](https://openassistant.us/ai-email-assistant)
- [AI meeting prep and daily agenda](https://openassistant.us/ai-meeting-prep)
- [Pricing](https://openassistant.us/pricing)
- [Trust Center](https://openassistant.us/trust)
